Deutsch | Français | Español | Magyar | 中文

FAQ / Frequently Asked Questions

What is the price of the mouse composed of?

There are various illustrations on the internet, depicting the exact cost breakdown of a product according to its respective costs for material, management, advertisement, administration etc. in a seemingly clear and simple way. We believe that such an illustration will create more misunderstandings than it will actually answer any questions. From our point of view, it would suggest a content that doesn't actually comply with reality on closer inspection. Therefore, we will stick to disclosing our supply chain as transparently as possible for the time being in order to illustrate the facts the best way we can. Detailed explanation

Does the mouse even still have a future?

A question that inevitably comes to mind considering recent developments like touchpad and touch screen. It seems though that the mouse will stick around for a few more years.

Here's a quick overview:

The PC mouse has been in existence for about 40 years now, even though it only is in wide use since about 15 years. The largest manufacturer is a company named Logitech. During the years 2003-2008, it sold an average of 100 Mio. PC mice per year.

Taking into account the recent development of touch screens as well as the increasing number of laptops with a built-in touchpad, some experts anticipate a rapid drop in demand for the mouse in the near future. However, internet research suggests that the mouse isn't that much of an endangered species regarding most of the new technologies, especially not when it comes to office computers, because the new ways of entering data don't have any particular advantages compared to the mouse here. Therefore, entities such as public institutions, for example, are very likely to continue to use mice in the near future. In order to be able to use a touchpad, one first has to buy a new PC. Additional expenditures for a more advanced technology, however, are usually only being made if there is a clear and visible benefit, especially concerning work places in the public sector, which means there will be no purchases of new PCs unless there is a solid reason for it.

Even if the mouse should indeed become a phase-out model in the coming years, the efforts to establish a fair mouse are still not to be considered pointless. For the mouse is a good model for experimenting with how a business like this might be build up and launched. The experiences gained here can then be transferred to other electronic devices. What is more, the fair mouse project aims to increase the awareness and demand of fair electronics in general, which then can be met by offering further (fair) electronic devices.

How is the term »fair« being defined in this project?

Depending on one's personal background and outlook on life, it might be confusing when the term "fairly traded" is being used without direct reference to developing countries. The original meaning of the term "fair" suggests that goods and products are being traded to the benefit of both sides without one side being excessively exploited. This way of trading should actually be called "normal". But in our extremely globalised world today, it is anything but self-evident. Whether this way of trading ought to benefit particularly the poor regions in developing countries, remains a controversial issue.

In our project, the term "fair" means that the mouse is being manufactured without any exploitation or violations of human rights (details here). This may appear ludicrously moderate and unambitious at first. Considering our current situation and our respective possibilities as a small project, though, it almost seems like a pretentiously ambitious goal. (see complexity of supply chain) On top of that, as a long-term perspective, the project aims at supporting both male and female workers in the developing and emerging countries concerned in a sustainable way: With our mouse, we hope to instigate a certain trend of development, which eventually will prompt even larger companies to act accordingly. Due to their size and market power, these companies will thus be in a much better position to implement better working conditions even in classical producing countries such as Vietnam. The guiding principle of the project therefore is to achieve a fair production chain within the currently existing structures.

Scroll up

Why not Vietnam? How do Asian factory workers benefit from the project?

Now of course it would seem only natural to have the mice produced in countries with a respective infrastructure already in place, such as China or Vietnam. In order to do so, we would have to make agreements with the manufacturing partners in those countries regarding sustainable production standards and see to it that these agreements would actually be adhered to by means of appropriate prices, regular checks and provided assistance on our side. However, when cooperating with Asian partners, one needs to take into account that, as experience teaches, intercultural differences can prove to be a serious challenge, especially when it comes to human and labour rights. Without a deeper understanding of the culture of the respective country, it will be very difficult to make sure that the production conditions comply with our ideas of sustainability. As observations of standard practices have shown, even the most elaborated monitoring efforts did not lead to the desired outcome here. Apart from that, such sophisticated measures are simply not feasible for a small project like ours. That is why, for now, we have decided to go for production locations where we can assume that the working standards comply with certain norms without the need for special agreements and checks.

In a (very small) nutshell: We seek to be a role model and to point larger companies in the right direction in the hope that they, too, will eventually improve the working conditions within their factories.

Scroll up

To what extent is the issue of waste disposal being considered in this project?

The proper disposal of waste electronic equipment is a widely discussed topic within the electrical engineering sector, the background of this discussion being resource scarcity as well as environmental and human rights problems, not only in mining but also on the disposal sites in developing countries. It is not uncommon to see children of primary school age work on these sites, either mining or reclaiming precious metals from waste electronic equipment for our electronic devices without any (health) protection, just like their grown-up colleagues. During this process, they are exposed to highly dangerous and health-damaging chemicals. If we want to avoid this, we need to be very vigilant of whom we hand over our waste electronic equipment for disposal.

In the production process, it is our goal to use as many recycled metals as possible, preferably reclaimed from local factories. The idea of re-use has proven especially useful and progressive in the discussion about sustainable disposal and recycling: by re-using not just the raw materials but entire functional units, a large portion of the process costs (including social and economic costs) could be saved. Yet in spite of it being quite a volatile and politically charged topic, we don't mean to focus too excessively on the question of to what extent the humanitarian and environmentally friendly re-use is being considered in the construction of the fair mouse. This is mainly due to the following two reasons:

For one thing, according to various disassembly and recycling companies, disused computer mice are not being disassembled into their component parts, but shredded completely. After that, the re-usable precious metals are being removed and separated. This seems to be common practice at present.

For another thing, even the most re-use friendly mouse unfortunately ends up as household waste in most cases: only a quarter of Europe's waste electronic equipment (among which our mice will also number one day in a hopefully distant future) is currently being disposed in a proper way. In other words, 75% end up on a disposal site.

Which is why we don't want to put too much effort and energy into the construction of a re-use friendly mouse for now. This might happen at a later stage. For the time being, we will stick to explicitly stating on the package or, if possible, on the shell of the fair mouse that, while it was manufactured under sustainable conditions, an environmentally friendly and socially compatible disposal is only possible if being dropped off at a relevant department. A reference regarding the value of the contained precious metals might serve as an additional motivation for the user not to dispose the mouse in the household waste, but to return it to be recycled. In the end, however, the responsibility lies in the hands of every consumer. It is his or her decision whether their electronic devices are going to be disposed in a sustainable way or not.

Scroll up

To what extent is the problem of climate protection being considered in this project?

By using recycled tin-solder, to give one example, we are not only preventing negative environmental effects that are usually caused by mining, but we are also saving large amounts of energy, which significantly improves the carbon footprint of the fair mouse. Also, due to the fact of being manufactured in countries where the relatively strict environmental laws are mostly being complied with, the production has fewer harmful effects on the environment in general and on the climate in particular, as opposed to conventionally manufactured computer mice. Last but not least, the regional marketing (the mice are being both manufactured and also mainly sold in Germany) prevents unnecessary transportation routes.

After we unsuccessfully tried to find some suitable recycled synthetic material to use for our mouse, we decided to go for a material made from renewable resources. Because we also wanted to adequately consider other environmental issues besides climate protection, such as water and air pollution, soil degradation or habitat and biodiversity destruction as well as human rights protection, we picked the raw material very carefully: the chosen synthetic material, called Arboblend, mainly consists of wood waste and all of its components are made in Europe.

Scroll up

Why a mouse actually, why not a computer or a mobile/cell phone?

First of all, the PC mouse is a device so simply structured and small, it makes an implementation of the project seem actually feasible. Other devices would be too complex to begin with, meaning one would have to make too much of a compromise right from the start. Second, the mouse is universal and non-specific: every mouse with an USB port can be connected to any random PC and used with any system software. Computer mice that are used in common offices usually don't need to fulfil any specific requirements and the users also mostly don't have any specific preferences regarding the producer, as they would have when it comes to their PCs.

While - apart from the key differentiator, the shape of the shell - there certainly are some technical differences as well (cordless or not, laser or LED etc.), the market is still undoubtedly dominated by optical mice with cable and LED. Other technical specifications are relatively costly and thus don't seem to be compatible for mass use at the moment. With an LED cable mouse, we are looking at a manifold market and sales potential .

Another advantage of the mouse being such a small and budget-friendly device is that even when its price is doubled, it is not going to create any large deficits in any household budget. Which is why public procurement authorities, for example, presumably will be more easily inclined to bear those minor additional costs.

Scroll up

If an entirely fair mouse isn't possible, does a partly fair mouse actually stand a chance of getting marketed?

Our mouse is going to be by far the most sustainable IT product currently available on the market, and we know we can't stress that enough when marketing it. While we can't completely rule out exploitation for now due to the centralised structure of the supply chain, the degree of exploitative labour with our mouse has been, compared to its "fellow " anyway, significantly reduced. Therefore, while not entirely fair, this mouse can be rightfully called considerably sustainable. . It is by far the fairest alternative and should therefore be preferred to other mice at any rate.

It is also important in this context that the project PHeFE keeps its dynamic character: We will not lose sight of our goal to eventually create a really fair mouse. Any further efforts to make the production process of the mouse even fairer (see above) will be documented in a transparent way and publicly accessible at any time or upon request.

Scroll up

What does the outlet market look like?

The market we mainly want to target is public procurement on one hand, but also people who belong to the group of LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability).

Scroll up

Why are conventional mice unfair?

For a few years now, several independent organisations have been publishing information from well-researched studies on inadequate working conditions in the electrical engineering sector (compare links). The value-added chain in this sector, which is considered to be a high-tech area, is being dominated by manual labour executed in emerging and developing countries . The social standards in those work places usually don't comply with the generally recognised norms as determined by the International Labour Organisation (ILO) and in many cases not even with human rights in general. These circumstances are widely known from many other sectors, particularly from agricultural production, but also the textile industry, for example:

A disproportional number of overtime hours, extremely health-damaging working conditions, exploitative child labour, substantial environmental destruction that does serious harm to people in the surrounding communities etc. define the day-to-day business in the electrical engineering sector as well. Particularly affected are those tasks and work stages that are (for cost reasons mainly) less engineered and mechanised. This is where an especially large number of unskilled workers are being hired since they are not specialised and thus easy to replace and very cost-effective too.

To give an example, this is the case with the extraction of raw materials, most of all mineral ores from which metals such as copper, tin, gold or tantalum are won. These raw materials often come from developing countries where the exploitation of even very young children in mining is particularly frequent. The health consequences as well as the environmental destruction in those areas are devastating. Not to mention the production of oil which is the basic natural source for any synthetic material. The violation of human rights is no exception when it comes to the extraction of this "everyday product".

In addition, the assembling of electro-technical individual components and assemblies is mainly carried out manually by unskilled workers. Sometimes one can find children do the work here, too, although considerably fewer than in mining. The fact is that the working conditions the assembling is being carried out under usually don't fulfil the respective national labour and environmental laws in any way.

There are fewer reports on the working conditions in the production of small components but since this often takes place in emerging and developing countries as well, it can be assumed that the problems occurring there are very similar. Occasional reports do substantiate this assumption (see lenses, capacitors). Due to the high degree of mechanisation in this area, the number of those affected is a little lower compared to assembling, yet the negative environmental effects are at least just as high due to the intense use of special processing chemicals.

For critical consumers, it can be quite challenging to bring their purchase behaviour into accordance with social standards since all companies more or less draw on the same suppliers . Thus the working conditions behind the products of the various brands at best show marginal differences, and no differences at all in the area of the individual components. While there still is comparatively little widespread knowledge about the wrongs and shortcomings within the supply chain of the electrical industry, several independent organisations keep working to inform and educate the public about these problems on various levels.

Scroll up

Is it fair to have our mouse manufactured in a sheltered workshop for mentally disabled people?

Our mice are produced by Retex, a sheltered workshop for mentally disabled people. We decided to cooperate with this workshop, because there, the needs of the employees are catered for to a very special degree. You can find details about this in our agreement with Retex, which records Retex‘ basic principles.

Scroll up

To what extent is the problem of climate protection being considered in this project?

After we unsuccessfully tried to find some suitable recycled synthetic material to use for our mouse, we decided to go for PLA (polylactic acid) a material made from renewable resources, in our case sugarcane. Today, the casing of our mice consists to 80% of renewables. Because we also wanted to adequately consider other environmental issues besides climate protection, such as water and air pollution, soil degradation or habitat and biodiversity destruction as well as human rights protection, we picked the raw material and producing factory very carefully:Among agricultural crops, sugarcane is efficient both in surface area and energy needed for production. Beoplast, where the injection moulding of the casing takes place, is a company producing CO2-neutral.

Scroll up

If an entirely fair mouse isn't possible, does a partly fair mouse actually stand a chance of getting marketed?

Our mouse is going to be by far the most sustainable IT product currently available on the market, and we know we can't stress that enough when marketing it. While we can't completely rule out exploitation for now due to the centralised structure of the supply chain, the degree of exploitative labour with our mouse has been, compared to its "fellow " anyway, significantly reduced. Therefore, while not entirely fair, this mouse can be rightfully called considerably sustainable. . It is by far the fairest alternative and should therefore be preferred to other mice at any rate. It ist also important to see that the project of NAGER IT is a dynamic one: The aim to produce a completely fair computer mouse will not be kept sight of. Further efforts, to create a fairer and fairer production process for the mouse will be made transaparent and will be accessible on demand or publicly.

Scroll up

English | Français | Español | Magyar | 中文

FAQ / Häufige Fragen

Wie setzt sich der Preis der Maus zusammen?

Es gibt im Internet diverse Darstellungen, die die genaue Kostenaufteilung eines Produktes scheinbar einfach und übersichtlich darstellen, nach Materialkosten, Managementkosten, Kosten für Werbung, Verwaltung etc . Wir glauben, dass eine solche Darstellung, mehr Missverständnisse hervorruft, als dass sie wirklich Fragen beantwortet. Sie suggeriert unserer Meinung nach einen Inhalt, den sie bei genauem Hinsehen nicht hat. Deswegen begnügen wir uns bis auf Weiteres damit, unsere Lieferkette möglichst transparent offen zu legen. Das sagt unserer Meinung am meisten aus. Detaillierte Erklärung

Hat die Maus überhaupt noch eine Zukunft?

Eine Frage, die sich mit Blick auf Entwicklungen wie Touchpad und Touchscreen förmlich aufdrängt. Die Maus scheint es aber noch einige Jahre zu geben.

Hier ein kleiner Überblick:

Die PC Maus existiert seit ca. 40 Jahren, auch wenn sie erst seit ca. 15 Jahren weit verbreitet ist. Größter Hersteller ist die Firma Logitech. Sie verkaufte in den Jahren 2003-2008 durchschnittlich 100 Mio. PC-Mäuse pro Jahr.

Mit Blick auf die Entwicklung des Touchscreens, aber auch durch die immer weitere Verbreitung von Laptops mit integriertem Touchpad prophezeien vereinzelt Experten der Maus in naher Zukunft eine rapide sinkende Nachfrage. Internetrecherchen haben aber ergeben, dass zumeist in den neuen Technologien keine Gefahr für die Maus gesehen wird, besonders nicht an Bürocomputern. Hier haben diese neuen Eingabeformen gegenüber der Maus keine wesentlichen Vorteile. Deswegen werden z.B. öffentliche Einrichtungen in naher Zukunft weiterhin Mäuse benötigen. Um ein Touchscreen benutzen zu können, bedarf es der Anschaffung eines neuen PCs. Gerade für öffentliche Büroarbeitsplätze werden aber Mehrausgaben für aufwendigere Technik nur dann getätigt, wenn ein sichtbarer Vorteil daraus entsteht. Das heißt, es werden ohne triftigen Grund keine neuen PCs angeschafft.

Sollte die Maus wider Erwarten tatsächlich nach einigen Jahren zum Auslaufmodell werden, so können die Bemühungen, eine faire Maus zu etablieren, dennoch nicht als zwecklos angesehen werden. Am Modell der Maus kann gut ausprobiert werden kann, wie ein solches Geschäft aufgebaut sein könnte. Die Erfahrungen können dann auf andere elektronische Geräte übertragen werden. Zudem soll mit dem Projekt der fairen Maus die Nachfrage nach fairer Elektronik angekurbelt werden. Diese kann dann mit weiteren Elektrogeräten bedient werden.

Wie wird der Begriff »fair« in diesem Projekt definiert?

Je nach Hintergrund und Weltanschauung kann es irritieren, wenn der Begriff „fair gehandelt“ ohne direkten Zusammenhang mit Entwicklungsländern verwendet wird. Die ursprüngliche Bedeutung des Begriffes "fair" zielt darauf ab, dass Waren zum Nutzen beider Seiten gehandelt werden, ohne dass eine Seite über die Maßen ausgenutzt wird. Diese Form des Handels sollte eigentlich als „normal“ bezeichnet werden. In unserer sehr globalisierten Welt ist sie aber alles andere als eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Ob dieser Handel speziell armen Regionen in Entwicklungsländern zugute kommen muss, ist eine Streitfrage.

In unserem Projekt bedeutet der Begriff „fair", dass die Maus ohne Ausbeutung und Menschenrechtsverletzungen hergestellt wird (Details). Das mag lächerlich bescheiden klingen. In Anbetracht der aktuellen Situation sowie unserer Möglichkeiten als kleines Projekt ist es aber ein fast schon anmaßend hoch gesetztes Ziel. (vgl. z.B. Komplexität der Lieferkette) Darüber hinaus verfolgt das Projekt das Ziel, auf lange Sicht ArbeiterInnen in den betroffenen Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern zu unterstützen: Durch unsere Maus soll eine Entwicklung angestoßen werden, die am Ende auch größere Firmen zum Handeln bewegt. Diese Firmen haben dann durch ihre Größe und ihre Marktmacht viel bessere Möglichkeiten auch in klassischen Produktionsländern wie z.B. Vietnam bessere Arbeitsbedingungen umzusetzen. Das Leitbild des Projektes ist also eine faire Produktionskette in heute bestehenden Strukturen.

Nach oben

Warum nicht Vietnam? Wie nützt das Projekt asiatischen Fabrikarbeiterinnen?

Natürlich wäre es naheliegend, die Mäuse dort produzieren zu lassen, wo die entsprechende Infrastruktur schon existiert, z.B. in China oder Vietnam. Dazu müsste man Abkommen bezüglich nachhaltiger Produktionsstandards mit den Produktionspartnern in diesen Ländern treffen und durch angemessene Preise, regelmäßige Kontrollen und Hilfestellungen dafür sorgen, dass diese Abkommen eingehalten werden. Dabei ist aber zu bedenken, dass in der Zusammenarbeit mit asiatischen Partnern erfahrungsgemäß die interkulturellen Differenzen, gerade in Bezug auf Menschen- und Arbeitsrechte eine ernstzunehmende Herausforderung sind. Ohne tiefere Kenntnis der Kultur des betreffenden Landes wird es sehr schwierig sein, sicherzustellen, dass die Produktionsbedingungen unseren Vorstellungen von Nachhaltigkeit entsprechen. Beobachtungen der gängigen Praxis zeigen, dass auch aufwendige Monitoringbemühungen hier in der Regel nicht zum Ziel führen. Abgesehen davon sind solche Maßnahmen für ein kleines Projekt wie dieses nicht durchführbar. Deswegen haben wir uns dafür entschieden, vorerst an Standorten produzieren zu lassen, an denen man auch ohne spezielle Abkommen und Kontrollen davon ausgehen kann, dass die Arbeitsstandards gewissen Normen entsprechen.

Wir wollen ein Vorbild sein und den großen Firmen den Weg weisen, mit dem Ziel, dass diese am Ende die Arbeitsbedingungen in ihren Fabriken verbessern. Stark verkürzt ausgedrückt.

Nach oben

Inwieweit wird die Problematik der Entsorgung in diesem Projekt berücksichtigt?

Die fachgerechte Entsorgung von Altgeräten ist ein viel diskutiertes Thema in der Elektrobranche. Hintergrund der Diskussionen sind Ressourcenknappheit sowie wiederum Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsprobleme nicht nur im Bergbau, sondern auch in den Entsorgungsstätten in Entwicklungsländern. An beiden Stätten sind nicht selten auch Kinder im Grundschulalter beschäftigt, die wie ihre erwachsenen Kollegen ohne jeglichen Schutz die Edelmetalle für unsere elektronischen Geräte abbauen bzw. aus unseren Altgeräten wiedergewinnen. Dabei sind sie extrem gesundheitsschädlichen Chemikalien ausgesetzt. Um das zu verhindern, müssen wir darauf achten, an wen wir unsere Altgeräte zur Entsorgung geben.

In der Produktion werden wir möglichst viele recyclete Metalle verwenden, die in hiesigen Betrieben wieder gewonnen wurden.Besonders fortschrittlich ist in der Diskussion um nachhaltige Entsorgung und Wiederverwertung ist der Gedanke des Re-Use: Es sollen also nicht nur Rohstoffe sondern komplette Funktionseinheiten wiederverwendet werden, so dass ein Großteil der Prozesskosten (einschließlich der sozialen und ökologischen) eingespart werden können. Bei aller Brisanz soll die Frage der umwelt- und menschenfreundlichen Wiederverwertbarkeit in Konstruktion der fairen Maus aus zwei Gründen nicht übermäßig in den Mittelpunkt rücken:

Zum einen werden nach Auskunft verschiedener Demontage- und Recyclingfirmen abgegebene Computermäuse nicht in Einzelteile zerlegt, sondern komplett geschreddert. Anschließend werden die verwertbaren Edelmetalle heraus gelöst und abgesondert. Dies scheint derzeit gängige Praxis zu sein.

Zum einen wandert auch die Re-Use freundlichste Maus leider in den meisten Fällen in den Hausmüll: Europaweit wird nur ein Viertel des Elektroschrottes, zu dem auch unsere Mäuse in hoffentlich ferner Zukunft mal werden, fachgerecht entsorgt. Das heißt andersrum, 75% landen auf der Deponie.

Aus diesen Gründen soll vorerst nicht allzu viel Energie auf eine Re-Use freundliche Konstruktion verwendet werden. Dies kann in einem späteren Stadium geschehen. Zunächst soll erstmal auf der Verpackung oder, wenn möglich, auf dem Gehäuse der fairen Maus explizit darauf hingewiesen werden, dass diese Maus zwar unter nachhaltige Bedingungen hergestellt wurde, eine umwelt- und sozialverträgliche Entsorgung aber nur dann möglich ist, wenn sie bei entsprechenden Stellen abgegeben wird. Ein Hinweis auf den Wert der enthaltenen Edelmetalle kann als weitere Motivation für den Kunden dienen, die Maus nicht im Hausmüll zu entsorgen, sondern zurück zu geben. Letztlich liegt aber die Verantwortung bei jedem einzelnen Verbraucher. Er (oder sie) entscheidet, ob er seine Geräte nachhaltig entsorgt oder eben nicht.

Nach oben

Inwieweit wird die Problematik des Klimaschutzes in diesem Projekt berücksichtigt?

Durch die Verwendung von recyceltem Lötzinn Beispielsweise werden nicht nur negative Umweltauswirkungen durch Bergbau vermieden, sondern auch große Mengen Energie eingespart, was die CO2-Bilanz der Maus erheblich verbessert. Auch durch die Tatsache, dass sie in Ländern produziert wird, in denen die relativ strengen Umweltgesetze weitestgehend eingehalten werden, hat die Produktion weniger schädliche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt allgemein und das Klima im speziellen, als das bei konventionellen Computermäusen der Fall ist. Zu guter Letzt vermeidet die regionale Vermarktung (die Mäuse werden in Deutschland hergestellt und vorwiegend auch dort verkauft werden) unnötige Transportwege.

Nachdem wir für unsere Maus keinen geeigneten Recyclingkunststoff finden konnten, greifen wir nun auf einen Werkstoff aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen zurück. Um aber neben dem Klimaschutz auch die übrigen Belange unserer Umwelt wie Wasser- und Luftverschmutzung, Bodendegradation und Zerstörung von Lebensraum und Artenvielfalt, sowie auch Menschenrechte angemessen zu berücksichtigen, haben wir den Grundstoff sorgfältig ausgewählt: Der gewählte Kunststoff, Arboblend, besteht zum Großteil aus Holzresten. Alle Bestandteile kommen aus Europa.

Nach oben

Warum eigentlich eine Maus und kein Computer oder Handy?

Zum einen ist die PC Maus ein so kleines, einfach strukturiertes Gerät, dass eine Umsetzung des Projekts realistisch erscheint. Andere Geräte wären für den Anfang zu komplex, so dass man von vornherein zu große Kompromisse eingehen müsste. Zum anderen ist die Maus universal bzw. unspezifisch: Jede Maus mit USB Anschluss kann an jeden beliebigen PC angeschlossen und mit jedem Betriebssystem verwendet werden. An Mäuse, die in gewöhnlichen Büros zur Anwendung kommen, werden in der Regel keine festgelegten Anforderungen gestellt. Im Gegensatz zu PCs haben haben Nutzer bei Mäusen meist auch keine ausgeprägten Präferenzen in Bezug auf den Hersteller.

Zwar gibt es neben dem Hauptunterscheidungsmerkmal, der Form des Gehäuses, auch technische Unterschiede (mit oder ohne Kabel, mit Laser oder LED, usw.) doch wird der Markt eindeutig von kabelgebundenen optischen Mäusen mit LED Lichtquelle dominiert. Andere technische Besonderheiten sind derzeit verhältnismäßig kostspielig und scheinen daher nicht für den Massengebrauch geeignet zu sein. Mit einer LED-Kabel-Maus stehen uns also äußerst vielfältige Absatzmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Ein weiterer Vorteil der Maus ist, dass sie ein kleines, kostengünstiges Gerät ist, das auch bei Verdoppelung des Preises kein übermäßiges Loch in die Haushaltskasse reißen wird. Aus diesem Grund werden sich z.B. öffentliche Beschaffungsstellen leichter dazu bewegen lassen, diese geringen Mehrkosten aufzubringen.

Nach oben

Wenn eine komplett faire Maus nicht möglich ist, kann so eine teil-faire Maus überhaupt vermarktet werden?

Unsere Maus wird mit Abstand das nachhaltigste IT Produkt sein, dass es auf dem Markt gibt. Dies werden wir bei der Vermarktung immer betonen. Zwar kann aufgrund der zentralisierten Struktur der Lieferkette Ausbeutung vorerst nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Der Anteil an ausbeuterischer Arbeit in unserer Maus ist aber, verglichen mit ihren „Artgenossen“, erheblich reduziert. Somit ist diese Maus, wenn auch keine komplett faire, so doch eine ziemlich nachhaltige. Sie ist die mit Abstand fairste Alternative und daher anderen Mäusen in jedem Fall vorzuziehen.

Wichtig ist in diesem Zusammenhang auch, dass das Projekt PHeFE ein dynamisches ist: Das Ziel der wirklich fairen Maus wird nicht aus den Augen verloren. Weitere Bemühungen, den Produktionsprozess der Maus noch fairer zu gestalten (s.o.), werden transparent dokumentiert und öffentlich oder auf Nachfrage einsehbar sein.

Nach oben

Wie sieht der Absatzmarkt aus?

Vornehmlich angestrebter Absatzmarkt ist die öffentliche Beschaffung, aber auch die Gruppe der LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability).

Nach oben

Warum sind konventionelle Mäuse unfair?

Seit einigen Jahren werden in gut recherchierten Studien verschiedener unabhängiger Organisationen Informationen über mangelhafte Arbeitsbedingungen in der Elektronikbranche veröffentlicht (vgl. Links). Die Wertschöpfungskette dieser als hochtechnisiert wahrgenommenen Branche wird demnach von Handarbeit dominiert, die in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern ausgeführt wird. Die Sozialstandards an diesen Arbeitsplätzen entsprechen in der Regel nicht den anerkannten Normen, wie sie die die internationale Arbeitsorganisation (IAO/ LO) festlegt und in vielen Fällen auch nicht den grundlegenden Menschenrechten. Diese Situation ist aus vielen anderen Branchen, v.a. landwirtschaftlicher Produktion, aber z.B. auch der Textilbranche bekannt:

Unverhältnismäßig viele Überstunden, extrem gesundheitsgefährdende Arbeitsbedingungen, ausbeuterische Kinderarbeit, erhebliche Umweltzerstörung, die den Menschen der Umgebung grundlegenden Schaden zufügt etc. bestimmen das Tagesgeschäft auch in der Elektronikbranche. Besonders betroffen sind diejenigen Arbeitsschritte, die, oft aus Kostengründen, wenig technisiert sind. Hier kommen besonders viele ungelernte Arbeitskräfte zum Einsatz. Diese sind nicht spezialisiert und daher leicht austauschbar und zudem kostengünstig.

Dies ist zum Beispiel der Fall in der Gewinnung der Rohstoffe, v.a. Erze aus denen grundlegende Metalle wie Kupfer, Zinn, Gold, Tantal, etc. gewonnen werden. Diese Rohstoffe kommen nicht selten aus Entwicklungsländern. Hier kommt es im Bergbau besonders häufig auch zur Ausbeutung noch sehr junger Kinder. Die gesundheitlichen Folgen sowie die Umweltzerstörung in diesen Gegenden sind verheerend. Nicht zu vergessen ist auch das Erdöl, das als Grundlage für Kunststoff dient. Auch bei der Gewinnung dieses "Alltagsproduktes" stellen Menschenrechtsverletzungen keine Seltenheit dar.

Zum anderen wird das Zusammensetzen elektrotechnischer Einzelbauteile und Baugruppen (Assembling) vorwiegend von ungelernten Arbeitskräften per Hand vorgenommen. Auch hier werden mitunter Kinder beschäftigt, wenn auch merklich weniger als im Bergbau. In der Regel wird das Assembling unter Arbeitsbedingungen durchgeführt, die den internationalen Übereinkommen und häufig auch den jeweiligen nationalen Arbeits- und Umweltgesetzen in keinster Weise gerecht werden.

Über die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Produktion von Kleinkomponenten wird weniger berichtet. Da diese häufig auch in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern stattfindet, kann man aber davon ausgehen, dass dort ähnliche Probleme auftreten. Vereinzelte Berichte bestätigen diese Vermutung (z.B. Linsen, Kondensatoren). Durch die hohe Mechanisierung in diesem Bereich ist die Zahl der Betroffenen dort etwas geringer als im Assembling, die negativen Umweltauswirkungen sind aber durch besonders hohen Einsatz von Prozesschemikalien mindestens genauso hoch.

Kritischen Konsumenten fällt es schwer, bei Elektronikprodukten ihr Einkaufsverhalten nach sozialen Standards auszurichten, weil alle Unternehmen im Großen und Ganzen auf die selben Zulieferer zurückgreifen. Somit unterscheiden sich die Arbeitsbedingungen hinter den Produkten der verschiedenen Marken nur marginal, im Bereich der Einzelkomponenten gar nicht. Das Wissen über die Missstände in der Zulieferkette der Elektroindustrie noch relativ wenig verbreitet. Diverse unabhängige Organisationen arbeiten aber auf verschiedenen Ebenen daran, die Öffentlichkeit zu informieren und aufzuklären.

Nach oben