Deutsch | Français | Español | Magyar | 中文

Where does the money go?

Watch out, here comes a lot of text! This is a call to the graphically savvy ones among you: Help us to visualise the following lines in one or several illustrations.

There are various illustrations on the internet, designed to depict the exact allocation of costs of a product. The purpose of it is to meet the need of people who want to find out - preferably in a simple, straightforward way - whether those involved in the production process (employees/workers, management, company owners, dealers/retailers, North, South, ...) are actually given a "fair" or "unfair" share in the profits. Good idea. So how come there is no such simple and clear illustration for the NagerIT mouse?
After we have compared different illustrations and discussed various new approaches, we have come to the conclusion that our production process is just way too complex, as to be illustrated in a simple diagram which would come even close to the truth in terms of justice among the people involved. On the contrary, we believe that such seemingly simple yet informative depictions are prone to easily mislead the readers rather than to illuminate the actual circumstances.

The challenge we have yet to find a solution for lies in the fact that while we indeed know the prices for the services and components of our mouse from our 20 direct suppliers, it still doesn't reveal much. Around 1000 people in over 100 companies are involved in the production process of our mouse (see supply chain).
For example, in order for us to state how much the employees and workers are getting paid, we need facts and figures from every single company about how long these employees work on each component of our mouse and how much money is being spent by each company on planning, marketing, management, material etc. We only know a smattering of these facts and figures though. But even if we had sufficient information, it still wouldn't reveal much unless depicting the effort in relation to the wage as well. How does one classify health risks, business risks, responsibility for others, etc. in order to illustrate which pay is fair and which is not? (Interested in a more detailed example? Please click here)

We believe that an illustration as depicted above (containing made-up figures) will create more misunderstandings than it will actually answer any questions. As far as we can see, it would rather suggest a content it just doesn't comply with.. And we would like to prevent that. Therefore, for the time being, we will stick to disclosing our supply chain as transparently as possible. In our opinion, that's the best way to illustrate the issue, even though the lack of any actual numbers and figures might suggest an objective possibility of evaluating the problem. That said, we are of course always open to any suggestions that may help us out of this dilemma.

We are happy to receive your ideas on how we might illustrate this issue in a clear and descriptive way without scaring off our readers with too much dry and indigestible text. Feel free to send your ideas or comments to:
hallo [at] nager-it [punkt] de

English | Français | Español | Magyar | 中文

Wohin fließt das Geld?

Achtung, jetzt kommt viel Text!
Ein Aufruf an Grafik-Begabte: Helft uns, den Inhalt der folgenden Zeilen in einer oder mehreren Abbildungen zu veranschaulichen.

Es gibt im Internet diverse Darstellungen, die die genaue Kostenaufteilung eines Produktes darstellen sollen. Der Sinn dahinter: Es besteht Bedarf danach, sich möglichst unkompliziert ein Bild machen zu können, wie "Fair" oder "Unfair" die an der Produktion Beteiligten (Arbeiter_innen, Management, Firmenbesitzer, Händler, Norden, Süden, ...) auch am Gewinn beteiligt werden. Gute Idee. Warum gibt es eine solch einfache und übersichtliche Darstellung nicht für die NagerIT-Maus?
Wir haben verschiedene Darstellungen verglichen und neue Ansätze diskutiert, und sind zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass unser Produktionsprozess zu komplex ist, um die Gerechtigkeit unter den Beteiligten in einem einfachen Diagramm darzustellen und damit der Wahrheit auch nur annähernd gerecht zu werden. Vielmehr glauben wir, dass solche scheinbar einfachen und dennoch informativen Darstellungen die Leserschaft leicht in die Irre führen kann, anstatt sie zu erleuchten.

Die Herausforderung, für die auch wir bisher keine Lösung gefunden haben besteht darin, dass wir von unseren 20 direkten Lieferanten die Preise für die Dienstleistungen und Bauteile für unsere Maus haben. Doch was sagt das aus? Um die 1000 Menschen sind in mehr als 100 Unternehmen am Produktionsprozess unserer Maus beteiligt (s.Lieferkette).
Um beispielsweise angeben zu können, wieviel an die beteiligten Arbeiter gezahlt wird, benötigen wir von jedem dieser Unternehmen Daten u.a. dazu, wie lange die Arbeiterinnen an dem jeweiligen Bauteil für unsere Maus arbeiten und wieviel Geld die Firma für Planung, Marketing, Management, Material ... ausgibt. Diese Daten liegen uns nur bruchteilhaft vor. Selbst, wenn wir diese Daten hätten, würde das noch wenig aussagen, wenn man nicht den Aufwand im Bezug auf den Lohn darstellt. Wie wertet man Gesundheitsgefahren, Geschäftsrisiko, Verantwortung für andere, etc. um darzustellen, welche Bezahlung gerecht ist und welche nicht. (Ein etwas detaillierteres Beispiel erwünscht? Bitte hier)

Wir glauben, dass eine Darstellung, wie oben beispielhaft abgebildet (mit frei erfundenen Zahlen), mehr Missverständnisse hervorruft, als dass sie wirklich Fragen beantwortet. Vielmehr suggeriert sie unserer Meinung nach einen Inhalt, den sie nicht hat. Und das möchten wir verhindern. Deswegen begnügen wir uns bis auf Weiteres damit, unsere Lieferkette möglichst transparent offen zu legen. Das sagt unserer Meinung am meisten aus, auch wenn keine Zahlen eine objektive Bewertungsmöglichkeit suggerieren. Abgesehen davon sind wir natürlich sehr offen für Vorschläge, die uns aus diesem Dilemma heraus helfen.

Wir würden uns sehr über Eure Ideen freuen, wie wir dieses Thema anschaulich darstellen können, ohne unsere Leser mit so viel Text erschlagen zu müssen. Ideen und Kommentare bitte an:
hallo [at] nager-it [punkt] de